The  requirements of the Codes are a combination of

  • standards established in law
  • good practice guidelines
  • procedures to reduce misunderstandings between landlords and tenants

The Codes set standards in nine categories:

  • general
  • equality and diversity
  • marketing
  • during the tenancy
  • tenant satisfaction
  • health and safety
  • at the end of the tenancy
  • complaints
  • disputes

To join one of the Codes accommodation providers fill in a declaration form stating that they agree to comply with the terms and conditions of the relevant Code. They also provide a list of all of the large developments that they manage and control.

They then complete a self-assessment questionnaire in which they assess how well they think they meet the various standards across the nine categories. A sample of the provider’s property portfolio is then inspected by an independent verifier who checks that the provider’s claims square with reality before full accreditation is granted. Verification visits focus on three key aspects: the property’s physical condition, how it is managed and customer satisfaction. Click here for a more detailed account of how standards are checked through self-assessment and verification.

Once membership of a Code has been granted, a member’s compliance is tested periodically through further verification visits. Serious cases of non-compliance can result in membership being withdrawn.

Members are also required to complete a new self-assessment questionnaire every three years.